Director of the Institute Intelligence and Data (IID)
Canada-CIFAR AI Chair, associate member to Mila
Member of CVSL / CeRVIM / BDRC / REPARTI / UNIQUE / VITAM / OBVIA
Full professor at the Electrical Engineering and Computer Engineering Department of
Université Laval

Address:
Electrical Engineering and Computer Engineering Department
Adrien-Pouliot Building
Université Laval
Quebec City (Quebec)  G1V 0A6
Canada

Office: PLT-1138-F
Email: christian.gagne@gel.ulaval.ca
Phone: use email

Biosketch

Christian Gagné is a professor at the Electrical Engineering and Computer Engineering Department of Université Laval since 2008. He is the director of the Institute Intelligence and Data (IID) of l’Université Laval. He holds a Canada-CIFAR Artificial Intelligence Chair and is an associate member to Mila. He is also a member of the Computer Vision and Systems Laboratory (CVSL), a component of the Robotics, Vision and Machine Intelligence Research Centre (CeRVIM), and the Big Data Research Centre (BDRC) of Université Laval. He is also participating to the REPARTI and UNIQUE strategic clusters of the FRQNT, the VITAM FRQS center and the International Observatory on the Societal Impacts of AI (OBVIA).

He completed a PhD in Electrical Engineering (Université Laval) in 2005 and then had a postdoctoral stay jointly at INRIA Saclay (France) and the University of Lausanne (Switzerland) in 2005-2006. He worked as research associate in the industry between 2006 and 2008. He is a member of executive board the ACM Special Interest Group on Evolutionary Computation (SIGEVO) since 2017.

His research interests are on the development of methods for machine learning and stochastic optimization. In particular, he is interested by deep neural networks, representation learning and transfer, meta-learning and multitask learning. He is also interested by optimization approaches based on probabilistic models and evolutionary algorithms for black-box optimization and automatic programming, among others. A significant share of his research work is on the practical use of these techniques in domains such as computer vision, microscopy, health, energy and transportation.

For more details, see the CV.

Directeur de l’Institut intelligence et données (IID)
Chaire en intelligence artificielle Canada-CIFAR, membre associé à Mila
Membre du LVSN / CeRVIM / CRDM / REPARTI / UNIQUE / VITAM / OBVIA
Professeur titulaire au département de génie électrique et de génie informatique
de l’Université Laval

Adresse :
Département de génie électrique et de génie informatique
Pavillon Adrien-Pouliot
Université Laval
Québec (Québec)  G1V 0A6
Canada

Bureau : PLT-1138-F
Courriel : christian.gagne@gel.ulaval.ca
Téléphone : utilisez le courriel

Biographie courte

Christian Gagné est professeur au département de génie électrique et de génie informatique de l’Université Laval depuis 2008. Il est le directeur de l’Institut intelligence et données (IID) de l’Université Laval. Il détient une Chaire en intelligence artificielle Canada-CIFAR et est membre associé à Mila. Il est également membre du Laboratoire de vision et systèmes numériques (LVSN), une composante du Centre de recherche en robotique, vision et intelligence machine (CeRVIM) ainsi que du Centre de recherche en données massives (CRDM) de l’Université Laval. Il fait partie des regroupements stratégiques REPARTI et UNIQUE du FRQNT, du centre VITAM du FRQS et de l’Observatoire international sur les impacts sociétaux de l’IA et du numérique (OBVIA).

Il a complété un doctorat en génie électrique (Université Laval) en 2005 pour ensuite effectuer un stage postdoctoral conjointement à l’INRIA Saclay (France) et l’Université de Lausanne (Suisse) en 2005-2006. Il a œuvré comme associé de recherche en milieu industriel entre 2006 et 2008. Il est membre du comité exécutif de l’ACM Special Interest Group on Evolutionary Computation (SIGEVO) depuis 2017.

Ses intérêts de recherche portent sur l’élaboration de méthodes pour l’apprentissage machine et l’optimisation stochastique. En particulier, il s’intéresse aux réseaux de neurones profonds, à l’apprentissage et au transfert de représentations, au méta-apprentissage ainsi qu’à l’apprentissage multitâche. Il s’intéresse également aux approches d’optimisation basées sur des modèles probabilistes ainsi qu’aux algorithmes évolutionnaires, entre autres pour l’optimisation boîte noire et la programmation automatique. Une part importante de ses travaux porte également sur la mise en pratique de ces techniques dans des domaines comme la vision numérique, la microscopie, la santé, l’énergie et les transports.

Pour plus de détails, consultez le CV.